The odd plight of doing a recital when everyone else has exams

(Plight as in predicament, not difficulty, obviously!)

Summer term: the time when everyone from age 15/16 to whenever they leave education (equalling around 6 years on average for university-goers) has to ignore whatever sun we in the UK get and revise for exams. Many sunny days are missed from forcing ourselves to stay cooped up in our rooms or in the library, and there is a period of a few weeks when many become almost totally antisocial. We get used to it, but it always inspires an annual moaning period nonetheless.

However, I chose a BA Music course in which I have no exams whatsoever! (I’ve done some practical and theory exams over the last couple of years, but they’re external). I’ve still had work to do in the last two summers though, so I have still been busy either composing or essay writing in a short space of time. But this year is different: I am doing a recital on the 29th of May and nothing else this term. I have to play my clarinet for half an hour to finish my degree.

Obviously this is easier said than done: I still have to make sure I practise a sufficient amount each day, and I have rehearsals with my accompanist, lessons and sessions with a friend, but other than that I am free to do whatever I like (ironically this still mostly involves writing). So while all my friends doing other subjects are in the library, I am spending most of the day trying to make myself practise and then panicking and doing it for the last couple of hours of the afternoon (on days when I don’t have a rehearsal/lesson in the morning, of course).

It feels very odd to be out of this revision loop. It becomes the thing to do and almost a hot topic of conversation, especially within my friends who are also in their final year. There will be about a week when my recital is done and exams are still going- I have no idea what I’ll do with myself then. For now, however, I am still feeling stressed, but the end result has to be compressed into one half-hour time slot. I am just grateful for the days when everyone does what they need to do in the daytime so we can all just collapse and relax together in the evenings. Whatever different stuff we’re all up to, that’s the bit to hold onto.

Good luck to all my friends and everyone else doing exams this term!

2 thoughts on “The odd plight of doing a recital when everyone else has exams

  1. buy breast actives June 28, 2013 / 9:49 PM

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

    • charlottetobitt June 28, 2013 / 11:17 PM

      How annoying 😦 sorry about that! Thank you though!

What do you think?

