Going To Gigs/Concerts Alone

Last night I (shock horror!) went to a gig all by myself. Unusually, I have done this a fair amount, even travelling to London from York about three times in the last couple of years to see shows I just couldn’t resist. To many, this would seem like a sad state of affairs- an admission of having no friends or even just daring to explore different interests to those around me. However, I really don’t care! I love going to gigs with friends, but I don’t find the experience diminished by being alone, and I’ll explain why.

For most of a gig, there isn’t much talking going on. In big venues it’s just impossible to hear anyone without shouting your lungs out when the music’s going, and in tiny ones the music is still often too loud for the size of the room and it’s also nice to show a bit of respect to those onstage in that sort of atmosphere. The only time conversational company is necessary is in between acts, but if you get restless then you could always try meeting new people- everyone there is a like-minded fan, after all, except for the odd partner dragged along- or just spend it at the bar. Granted, I don’t usually do either of these things, but there is of course a place for introverts in this world too. Just because you think it would be mind-boggling boring to be there alone doesn’t mean that everyone agrees.

Equally, dancing and moving to music can make lots of people pretty self-conscious. Some may disagree over whether this is worse amongst people you don’t know at all or with friends/acquaintances, but personally I hate feeling like my awkward but enthusiastic movements are being judged at a gig by anyone with less than boyfriend/best friend/mum status. I don’t think about it as much when no one I know is around me, as ultimately any fleeting thoughts they have about me are completely irrelevant and non-consequential, but I often don’t quite feel comfortable if I’m with a new friend in particular. Maybe this one’s just me; I know that some people declare their love for dancing and don’t care who sees, but I am quite happy in my own little bubble. Ultimately it’s fine either way: my point is just that being alone whilst the gig’s in full swing isn’t to your detriment.

Then of course, there are financial and logistical factors. Even if you know a plethora of people into this band too, they may not be free on that day, able to travel or might be too skint at that point in time. Why should this stop you from going? If you want to go and see an awesome band/singer/whatever it may be, there shouldn’t be a social stigma stopping you from having a good time. For many of us, music is something to associate with on a deep level, so getting the whole live experience might just be worth spending a couple of hours alone.

I saw Ramin Karimloo in London's 229 Club alone last year and he was wonderful nonetheless!
I saw Ramin Karimloo in London’s 229 Club alone last year and he was wonderful nonetheless!
9 thoughts on “Going To Gigs/Concerts Alone

  1. aregularcupofjo May 24, 2013 / 6:05 PM

    I think it’s great that you still go out and enjoy things without needing people. I hate trying to beg my friends to come out with me to things they don’t enjoy. I usually find myself going alone to movies and such and it turning out to be fine. Great post 🙂

    • charlottetobitt May 24, 2013 / 6:17 PM

      Glad you agree! It’s definitely an underrated way of doing things. Thanks for reading 🙂

      • aregularcupofjo May 24, 2013 / 6:19 PM

        You’re welcome and if you wanna read any funny and inspirational stories you are more than welcome to check out my blog 🙂

      • aregularcupofjo May 24, 2013 / 6:45 PM

        Thank you so much. I’m glad you enjoyed your Cup of Joe and will be back for refills 🙂

  2. Will Jones July 5, 2013 / 11:21 PM

    I’ve stopped going to gigs, even bands I used to go nuts for who tour once in a blue moon. Phones in the air, people talking, bad setlists and rip off prices have killed it for me. Granted I play in bands myself and am always a bit gigged-out, but for a spectacle and entertainment, watching gigs isn’t the experience I’m looking for these days.

    • charlottetobitt July 6, 2013 / 7:39 AM

      I don’t blame you, those are all pretty significant cons to ggs nowadays… I think I’m quite good at blocking out other stuff and focusing on the music. Bad setlists is a pretty sweeping statement though isn’t it?

  3. Em Scotcher August 30, 2013 / 11:39 AM

    Definitely agreed 🙂 I don’t mind going to gigs alone – sometimes I prefer it, especially if it’s something I desperately want to see and there’s nobody else that interested. Better to go alone and enjoy the experience than take someone who’ll be asking “Who’s that? What’s going on?” all the way through, I reckon! 😉

    …Also, Ramin Karimloo? Must be my favourite musical theatre actor of all time, along with his buddy Hadley Fraser – top blokes, too! 🙂

    • charlottetobitt August 30, 2013 / 11:46 AM

      WOOOO another Ramin/Hadley fan! Ramin was Valjean and Hadley was Javert when I went to see Les Mis, and they’re both incredible!
      And you have got it spot on, I think!

What do you think?

