Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR List

I decided to join in on Broke & Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday as seen here. I may make this a regular addition to the blog as I enjoy writing lists and it’s fun to join a project with such an inbuilt community! Today’s anchor post is here.

  1. joylandJoyland – Stephen King. The tale of broken-hearted Devin Jones working at an amusement park who soon becomes embroiled in murder and unease, Joyland is exactly what I’ve been waiting for from Stephen King. Created in the style of traditional pulp fiction and so appropriately published by Hard Case Crime, the theme of the book reminds me of the most sinister of the old Point Horror books, but of course it’s King so it this will be in the most devilishly clever way, exposing the wrongs with human nature. I have actually just started this one and am so far twenty pages in, and it is already gripping and fun. This is the sort of easy to read but non-obvious book that I love to read over the summer.
  2. The Boyfriend App – Katie Sise. I was recently lucky enough to win a copy of The Boyfriend App from Katie herself on Twitter, so will be eagerly awaiting its arrival in the post when I’m home from uni. I’ve read some great reviews of the book so far so can’t wait to weigh in myself! I’m also looking forward to reading about an unabashedly geeky female main character.
  3. darkplacesDark Places – Gillian Flynn. I recently finished Gone Girl (like so many people this year) and loved the writing style and story structure so much I thought I absolutely have to read Flynn’s two other books- this and Sharp Objects. Dark Places attracted my interest more than the latter due to its tale of family doubt and murder, which is why I thought I’d read it first, but I’m also intrigued by the latter’s serial killer/reporter mystery.
  4. Attachments – Rainbow Rowell. I read Rainbow’s Eleanor & Park a few months ago which was a charming YA novel, although I thought it was a little simplistic in places, so I am keen to read her adult book Attachments based around office e-mails and friendships. I also very much like the sound of her upcoming book Fangirls, so it would be good to have read both before the new one comes out in September.
  5. Kept – Elle Field. Released in May, Kept seems to be a fun chick-lit that is the perfect “beach read”. Arielle is used to everything being paid for by her boyfriend, so when she ends up living back with her parents and her love life is up in arms, she doesn’t quite know what to do…
  6. 200px-Extremely_loud_and_incredibly_close_largeExtremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer. I watched the film and found it deeply affecting, so of course I have to read the novel it was based on. As it was recently reduced for Kindle I snapped it up, and am now waiting for a week when I have little to do and can immerse myself in this tale of a young boy struggling to deal with the loss of his father in 9/11.
  7. Keeping Secrets – Sue Gee. Another fun sounding chick-lit, Keeping Secrets is about two sisters and love and pain both within and outside of marriage. A slightly older book, I heard some people passionately talking about it and subsequently found it for 99p so I had to buy it.
  8. The God Of Small Things – Arundhati Roy. After I loved The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Housseini, a friend recommended this to me as it apparently shares themes, moods and all-round beauty. I forgot about this one for a few years but I’ve finally bought it and am ready to go with a genre I read a bit less than the others on this list.
  9. the first last kissThe First Last Kiss – Ali Harris. I’ve heard gushings of this book providing beauty, tears, smiles and everything in between in its portrayal of first love and life afterwards. That’s all I need to know to want to read for myself really.
  10. Always You – Erin Kaye. A lilting book of Irish university lovers and how their lives take different turns despite their commitment to each other, I was prompted to read the preview on Amazon and then couldn’t resist. I’ve read the first chapter and have literally no idea why Calel and Sarah would split up- it says right at the beginning of the next chapter so that’s not a spoiler! I’ve been left really wanting to find out what went wrong, which is why this is the perfect book to close the list.
10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR List

  1. readerbuzz June 18, 2013 / 12:03 PM

    Welcome to Top Ten! I hope to see here again. I like it so much that I rarely miss a week.

    And thanks for reminding me about Attachments. I have it here and, now that I’ve read and loved Eleanor & Park, I feel I need to find it and try it, too.

    Here’s my summer TBR list!

    • charlottetobitt June 18, 2013 / 10:57 PM

      Thank you! I’m looking forward to making it a regular thing! I enjoyed yours too, I’d like to read Cloud Atlas. I hope you enjoy Attachments, I’ll probably post about it when I read it.

    • charlottetobitt June 18, 2013 / 10:57 PM

      Thank you! I’m sure I’ll post about it once I’ve read it 🙂

  2. Erin @Quixotic Magpie June 19, 2013 / 3:23 PM

    Dark Places is my favorite Flynn book!! And I can’t believe I forgot to put Joyland on my list! New follower.

    • charlottetobitt June 19, 2013 / 3:29 PM

      Thank you very much, I’m happy to share your excitement!

  3. Elle Field (@ellefie) June 24, 2013 / 8:35 PM

    Awww, so thrilled to see that Kept is on your summer TBR pile – I hope you enjoy it! {^_^}

What do you think?

