Top Eight Things That Make Your Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier

I have returned to The Broke And The Bookish to try my third Top Ten Tuesday; this time it’s on Top Ten Things That Make Your Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier. I couldn’t actually make it to ten, but I decided that it would be acceptable since everyone has their own techniques and some maybe don’t need as many as ten things to help them out. Here are a few of mine.

8. Library

I haven’t actually used my local library in quite a while, but I would never deny that it’s reassuring to know that it’s there. I have used my university library, however, as although I couldn’t get any new novels through it, I was able to read some classics from the English Literature section; they’re obviously useful to read, and many are still writing about new takes on their themes anyway.

Regardless of when I’ve used it in the past, I am currently very happy to know that when I’ve finally got through all the books loaded on my Kindle and any paperbacks I haven’t got around to yet, I’ll still be able to read new things when I’m potentially quite poor after my Masters this year!

A sofa, cup of tea and a good book = perfection... bonus points if you add a cat!
A sofa, cup of tea and a good book = perfection… Bonus points if you add a cat!

7. A cup of tea

There’s nothing quite like curling up on the sofa with a book and a good cup of tea (milk, no sugar please), except perhaps for a hot chocolate in the winter. Equally, tea can be a great mental help when writing a review. If you’re English, I certainly shouldn’t need to tell you that though!

6. Teenage Bookshelves

Having a good stock of books in a range of genres that a bookworm inevitably builds up as they grow can turn out to be very useful later on; whether it be re-reading old faithfuls to write about them for the first time, or discovering new gems that had been left untouched, your old bookshelves can be a positive minefield. I’ve recently returned home from university and have started reading some of my mum’s old Stephen King paperbacks that I never got round to reading before (I always had a lot of Stephen King to choose from!)

Books both young and old...
Books both young and old…

5. Long Journeys

As annoying as they can be, long journeys (say, for example, York to the Isle of Wight, which I got to know quite well!) are great for reading and subsequently blogging. Even the most dedicated person to books can sometimes go several days without being in the mood to read at all; undertaking a long journey like this gives you little else to do, so reading is the best thing to do to fill time, even if you’re partway through a book you’re not enjoying! If you go down the thinking route instead of reading, then it can still be beneficial as you may end up scrawling down some useful notes for your blog.

4. WordPress

WordPress is great because it is so easy to use: just bash out a review or whatever else it may be, and you’ll almost certainly come into no trouble. In terms of making life easier, WordPress wins just by being extremely simple and yet still doing everything you could possibly need it to do.

3. Goodreads

goodreadsI wrote about why I’m such a big fan of Goodreads here, so I’ll just mention some different reasons it’s great for bloggers. It is easy to write either a full or part review that links to your blog, meaning that if readers like your style or your take on a book, they can follow the link to find more. I now post a summary of what I thought about a book on Goodreads with a link to a full review on here, which I particularly like because very long reviews can be off putting when scrolling down Goodreads pages.

The giveaways that they do are also useful for obvious reasons; although there’s no guarantee of receiving any book, you can apply to win new releases and can then do a review for free if you’re lucky enough. The website allows you to connect with other book bloggers and readers, and also neatly catalogue your conquests- a tool that is especially handy if, like me, you read a mixture of physical and eBooks.

2. Twitter

Twitter allows everyone to connect, and “everyone” includes readers, bloggers, publishers, authors, and whoever else wants to get involved! I recently saw a retweet about contacting someone to receive a proof copy of the new Linwood Barclay, I replied, and that was it, I had one in the post. You can’t go far wrong with that! It’s also essential for sharing your blog posts, as well as reading other people’s to find out what you may want to read next.

1. Kindle

It will suffice to say two things about why the Kindle is useful: it often allows you to buy cheaper books, and it means you can carry hundreds of books in your bag at once! I’m sold.

5 thoughts on “Top Eight Things That Make Your Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier

  1. ChrissiReads August 20, 2013 / 10:59 AM

    Yes, I completely agree with you. I love travelling somewhere as I get so much reading done! I still prefer a physical book, but I am appreciating my Kindle more nowadays!

    • charlottetobitt August 20, 2013 / 3:03 PM

      Ditto- that’s why I’ve recently been reading a mixture of physical and eBooks!

  2. Tirta @ I Prefer Reading August 20, 2013 / 11:57 AM

    Teaaaaa! It’s my fave partner too when reading books, topped with some snacks or chocolate. I also bring books when I’m on the road too or going somewhere, it’s best to fight the boredomness that often comes in the way 🙂

  3. readerbuzz August 20, 2013 / 12:32 PM

    Yes, coffee with my books. I keep forgetting things! Thanks for the reminder!

    Here’s my Book Blessings.

  4. Courtney August 20, 2013 / 5:22 PM

    The Library is so important – I just WISH I used it more!

What do you think?

