Starting To Write

Writing a blog post comes fairly quickly to me. Although there are some days when I get fidgety easily and it therefore takes a while to process and get down my thoughts, on others I can easily knock one or even two posts out with no trouble at all.

Unfortunately, it takes a bit more to get the flow going for creative writing.

I’ve had an idea in my head for a couple of months now – I may even have two – but try as I might I just haven’t been able to start. I’m confident that once I’ve started, perhaps when I’ve got one chapter, then it’ll be a lot easier to keep going. Not easy, but it will certainly be better than looking at a blank page and wondering what words to spit out.

I haven’t yet told anyone what my novel will be about, if I ever do write it down: if it never makes it out of my head then perhaps I’ll write a concept post about it, but for now it’s too embarrassing to describe.

Starting is just a scary thing: until you begin, there’s no chance of failure. The second you write a sentence, a page, a chapter but don’t finish it, or do finish it and it’s bad, then you’ve failed at your venture and you will feel bad about that. Better to hide from the problem and never put yourself out there, right?

Well, of course not, but that’s just the initial fear that any writer has to work past. I’ll get there eventually, even if I waste the whole summer and later have to fit it in around more time constraints. I’ve done other writing and non-writing things this summer so I don’t feel bad about wasting it, but I do feel a little bad about letting one of my last expanses of time fly by.

If you’re a writer, do you have any tips for starting that you wouldn’t mind sharing? I’m sure I’m not the only one who’d benefit from them!

writing

4 thoughts on “Starting To Write

  1. lauralovelock August 30, 2013 / 12:23 PM

    Firstly, I wouldn’t class myself as a ‘writer’. I’m more of a ‘giving it a go’ kind of person! But I’m more than happy to share some of my tips!

    1. Just start. I know that sounds silly but start by writing a sentence and then another and then another. As soon as you get those first words down on a bit of paper it seems a lot less scary that it did when it was blank.
    2. Don’t aim for perfection. A lot of what you write first time around will end up going through the editing stage, so don’t try to make everything perfect from the start. Get all your feelings and the words and the characters onto the paper and then once you’ve told the story you can go back and edit it.
    3. Set yourself a goal. I have a daily goal of writing 1,000 words. Sometimes I manage more than that and sometimes I fall just under but by having something to work to each day, you have a motivation and a drive to complete the goal.
    4. Don’t over-think anything. Just write. Don’t worry about how other people might read it or how it might sound silly. Forget about that and write what you want to write.
    5. Lastly, enjoy it! Stressing out about writing is not good and can leave you feeling less motivated and less enthusiastic to pick up a pen and write. Go with the flow and let your imagination run free.

    I hope these tips are helpful. I’ve learnt that you just have to jump in at the deep end and start writing. Once the page isn’t blank, it becomes a whole lot less scary..!

    Good luck! xx

  2. jennyinneverland August 30, 2013 / 12:33 PM

    Before I started writing I made a list of everything it would involve: The plot, the characters names/what they looked liked, where it will be set – everything. I didn’t start writing a single word until I’d figured all that out and it definitely helped because it would have been worse getting to a point in the middle of writing and thinking, ‘Crap! I don’t know where she is/what she looks like’ and it throws you off. So maybe start with that?

    Obviously I’m not going to pretend I’ve got all the answers because I’ve only dabbled in one chapter and although it’s scary putting it out there, you can get some good feedback once it’s out. For example, some people have noticed some really tiny mistakes in mine that I wouldn’t have thought twice about otherwise!

    If it’s not perfect then you’ve by no means failed there’s plenty of people out there (some of whom I can think of on Twitter) who can give you tips/advice and like you said it’s every writers initial fear, putting their work out there for everyone to see. I found publishing my first chapter on my blog helped so maybe you could try that? 🙂 Can’t wait to read whatever you’ve got up your sleeve!

  3. Elle Field (@ellefie) August 30, 2013 / 2:43 PM

    When I write, I write for me and that makes it a lot easier to forget the ramifications of everyone else’s (potential) opinion! But, writing for me came about because of reading. Whilst you don’t want other authors to infiltrate your writing, I think it’s important to know your genre in and out, so that involves devouring books. That way, you know exactly what you as a reader like and don’t like, and that definitely helps you as writer.

    It’s definitely better to just sit down and write; don’t worry about what you are writing, especially if that’s what is putting you off starting. I bet there are less than a dozen authors in the world who are able to sit down and write a beautiful first draft that could immediately be published. Remember, you can always fix it in the edit!

    If you’re nervous about starting, start writing down character or plot notes – you might not be writing chapters doing this but what you are writing down will help make those chapters happen eventually.

    In the early days, I used youwriteon.com for feedback rather than put it on my blog. That way you know that no one is biased in their feedback – they aren’t giving you a nice verdict because they like your blog or follow you on Twitter – mabe give it a go or other sites like authonomy?

    Good luck! x

  4. charlottetobitt August 30, 2013 / 11:37 PM

    Some great tips: thanks all! I’ll definitely be bearing them in mind…
    You helped me start off and write 286 words today, which isn’t much but has made a huge difference to my state of mind towards it so it was much appreciated 🙂

What do you think?

