Love and writing in Stuck In Love

Stuck In Love was the most affecting movie I’ve watched in a long time – with the exception of The Fault In Our Stars, but that doesn’t count because I knew what was going to happen even if I didn’t know how much I was going to cry.

These two films are linked by the same director, Josh Boone, and one of the stars, Nat Wolff. That’s one of the main reasons I started watching – that and it’s what I eventually chose when scrolling through Netflix when I was supposed to be essay writing.

As a result, I didn’t even realise almost every main character of Stuck In Love is a writer. Writing is discussed throughout – what it means to be a writer, what sort of experiences enhance our writing, how personal it is. Stephen King comes up a lot too, which was incredible for me. To hear the characters discussing IT and to hear Mr King quote himself, saying “the most important things are the hardest to say,” meant I could relate to their thought processes and think about what words really can mean.

“Rusty, a writer is the sum of their experiences. Go get some…”

Here’s a confession; I’m not a great writer, I’m a great re-writer. I think about us, our story and all the things that went wrong with us.”

This was all highly inspirational for me and has made me even more determined to just go for it. It’s interesting that the father pays his two teenage children to write journals so that they can invest their time into improving themselves in this work rather than spending it at McDonald’s. It seems to pay off though, showing that although natural talent also has a say, if everyone who said they don’t have time to write or play an instrument or do something else they’ve been putting off just sat down and put in the time investment, it really might be worth it.

The other thing the film focuses on is love, as the title may suggest. It’s not just one generic story of boy meets girl. Rather, it follows different family members on their personal quests of second chances, avoiding getting hurt at all costs, and writing poetry for a girl that needs to fix herself. It just feels more real than many “love stories”.

It’s full of poignant lines and moments that will make your eyes well up, all accompanied by a perfectly curated soundtrack. Put all this together with some fantastic acting, especially from Greg Kinnear, Logan Lerman and Nat Wolff, and I highly recommend this film.

What do you think?

