One year on: the end of a journalism MA

That’s it – it’s over! Last week I handed in my final MA Journalism project and  I still can’t believe it. So much has happened in a year, I couldn’t even have dreamed last September that everything would have aligned so closely to my plan.

I only made the decision to switch from music to journalism in the early part of 2013 when I was trying to decide what to do when I graduated in July. I decided on my new career path after sadly deciding that a career in music performance would be out of my reach and a career in teaching was not up my street. So I decided that, since I like writing and news and hearing people’s stories, journalism would be a good step for me.

Luckily, it seems I was right. At the end of September 2013 I began studying MA Journalism at Kingston University and dived in immediately for a very intense and challenging but rewarding year.

Highlights of the year include constantly outdoing my expectations of myself, becoming fascinated by media law, the power that comes with having shorthand, and meeting my now best friend as well as some other extremely lovely people.

And, of course, the fact that the course gave me everything I needed in just seven months to get a proper, grown up, full-time job – with a final practical project still to do (it’s manageable with a full-time job but not exactly a barrel of laughs) – made every bad day more than worthwhile and I’m so impressed at what the lecturers managed to do for us in that short space of time.

After a month at a great website, London24, which taught me a lot – including how to survive a commute across the entirety of London for at least one hour 45 minutes each way – I had a difficult choice to make and jumped ship (sorry again!) to join the Surrey Advertiser in Guildford. Every week I enjoy it more and get more confident as a reporter and I’m very pleased with where I’ve got so far.

Remember, kids, it can be done – you can get a job you like and live the dream!

One thought on “One year on: the end of a journalism MA

What do you think?

