My Year In Books

This year once again I decided to do the Goodreads challenge. Last year my target was to read 30 books and I surpassed that so this year I upped that to 40… but I beat that in mid-November too!

I wrote more book reviews last year though so, since I haven’t mentioned too many on my blog in 2014, I thought I’d do a round-up of what I’ve read in the rough order I enjoyed them.

I’ll group them by the rating I gave them on Goodreads and rank them more or less in order within those groups. Hope that makes sense!

Five stars

You Had Me At Hello – Mhairi McFarlane

The First Last Kiss – Ali Harris – I actually cried at this ON THE TUBE. If you know me, you know how ridiculous that is.

Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres

Four stars (the first half of this list was very hard to rank – I possibly should have given some of them five stars)

Dark Places – Gillian Flynn

How To Build A Girl – Caitlin Moran – I wish this book had been around when I was 17. But I’m still desperately happy to have read it now.

Funny Girl – Nick Hornby – Although I’ve loved all of Hornby’s previous books I had quite low expectations, and the humour and characters in this book just blew me away.

Us – David Nicholls – No One Day, but a hilarious and meaningful look at familial relationships and how things change, with the backdrop of both London and a European tour.

The Bone Clocks – David Mitchell – A few slow and dense patches, but generally this book is a masterpiece of interconnected human life, both mortal and immortal.

Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock – Matthew Quick – This book tore me up inside. Then I went to a talk and met the author and the insight into his mind was fascinating too.

On Beauty – Zadie Smith

Sharp Objects – Gillian Flynn

The State We’re In – Adele Parks – I actually interviewed Adele this year and she was lovely – and apologised to me for the ending of this book, which you’ll understand if you’ve read it! Only the second book this year to make me well up.

Slaughterhouse-Five – Kurt Vonnegut

It’s Not Me, It’s You – Mhairi McFarlane

We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

The Woman Who Went To Bed For A Year – Sue Townsend – the narrator on the audiobook made me laugh a lot in the car!

Landline – Rainbow Rowell – I love Rainbow – and also met her this year! What a great year for meeting authors! – but this was probably my least favourite of hers, which is why it’s a way down the four star list.

Whatever It Takes – Adele Parks

The Age of Miracles – Karen Thompson Walker

Three stars

Here’s Looking At You – Mhairi McFarlane – I did enjoy this one but not as much as her other two which were just wonderful!

NW – Zadie Smith

Dracula – Bram Stoker – not my favourite classic but obviously deserves respect.

You’re The One That I Want – Giovanna Fletcher – I just didn’t love it as much as Billy & Me, but I did love Robert.

Flying Under Bridges – Sandi Toksvig – I’ve never been a massive fan of Sandi on TV but this made me laugh a surprising amount.

The Girl At The Lion D’Or – Sebastian Faulks

The Universe Versus Alex Woods – Gavin Extence

Endless Love – Scott Spencer

Around The World In 80 Days – Michael Palin

The Circle – Dave Eggers – Very good concept but the main character was excruciatingly annoying.

The Stepford Wives – Ira Levin

The Cry – Helen Fitzgerald

The List – Joanna Bolouri – quite cheeky and raunchy, a good bit of fun.

The Guestbook – Holly Martin – I enjoyed the unique guestbook style although it seemed a bit too unrealistic at times.

The Killing Season – Mason Cross

By My Side – Alice Peterson

A Bad Character – Deepti Kapoor

Two stars

The Pregnant Widow – Martin Amis

The One Plus One – Jojo Moyes

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight – Jennifer E. Smith

Lone Wolf – Jodi Picoult

The Unexpected Consequences of Love – Jill Mansell

What Was She Thinking? [Notes On A Scandal] – Zoe Heller

How To Love – Katie Cotugno

Not What They Were Expecting – Neal Doran

What do you think?

