My 5k challenge – part one

At the time of writing, it is 20 days until I take part in a Colour5k for Leatherhead-based children’s charity The Rainbow Trust on Sunday May 22.

I signed up through work in April, with an invitation coming through as I cover that part of Surrey. But the real reason I jumped at the opportunity  is I read Alexandra Heminsley’s Running Like A Girl earlier this year and got inspired.

Screen-Shot-2013-11-07-at-11.41.34For any women who think maybe they should try running but absolutely dread the idea, read this book first. Alexandra takes the reader through her personal journey from her first horrible run around the local park to completing multiple marathons. She gives an insight into the highs and lows, gives tips on practical stuff like the best sports bras, and just generally how to keep going. It doesn’t make running sound any easier per se, but it makes it sound like something worth trying, for many mental and physical reasons. Alexandra inspired me to try.

I’ve never been a runner. I always came last or second to last in school races or cross country. I did absolutely no exercise during university, except when I started cycling and my commute was up a big hill (on which I often got overtaken by my lecturers on their own bikes, which was depressing). I joined the gym a couple of years ago when I got my first proper job, but while I’ve at various points enjoyed weights or group classes or swimming, I hated running in there.

So a few weeks ago I started running, slowly. Luckily for me I live right by the Thames and spending some time in that setting on a warm evening is a bit more motivation. I run towards Hammersmith and go a bit further every time and – shock horror – I’m actually slightly enjoying it. I’m still very slow – yesterday I did 2.75 miles in 31 minutes, please don’t laugh – but I feel like I can manage it a little better each time.

The Colour5k is not the most serious of runs; it’s designed to be a fun way to fund raise. But I would like to be able to have a good time, run more or less the whole time and feel like I’ve accomplished something. And this could be the first of more personal accomplishments.

I’ll let you know how it goes. In the meantime, please check out my fundraising page here.

One thought on “My 5k challenge – part one

What do you think?

