What I read in June…

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll

71rfICBB6WLWow. I don’t want to spoil anything about this book because there are two huge things the reader discovers that aren’t given away in the blurb and it’s all the better for it.

Luckiest Girl Alive follows TifAni FaNelli, a 28-year-old editor at The Women’s Magazine in New York who is engaged to a successful and handsome guy and is generally feeling like she’s got everything she’s ever wanted. But TifAni is about to take part in a documentary about an extremely harrowing event that happened at high school when she was 14 and delving back into her past changes everything.

As a reader you’ll rarely like TifAni but that’s okay. What’s important to me was just that I understood her and all her cruel, self-loathing ways by the end of the book. But more importantly (for me) the plot was totally gripping and kept me turning the pages late into the night.

Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran

413XmzrtUJL._SX317_BO1,204,203,200_I’m a huge fan of Caitlin Moran. She’s witty, clever and has me shouting ‘yes!’ more than any other writer. She is the most wise and yet outrageous woman out there.

Moranifesto is mostly a compilation of her excellent Times articles, with some new material tying it all together and creating a common theme- the people should come up with more ideas to improve our day-to-day life, instead of leaving everything up to the same group of politicians.

I thought there would be a bit more original stuff and a bit less that had already been published which put me off slightly while I was reading it, yet it was still 400 wonderfully packed pages. Where else can you read about the sordidness of libraries closing and the terrible stuff women still have to put up with, before rapturous pages about Benedict Cumberbatch and David Bowie, then pieces vindicating you from hating wearing heels and loving wearing tights all year round? That all talks straight to me. Thanks, Caitlin.

(Also I laughed out loud reading this on the Tube quite a lot. It takes a big game to make me laugh out loud. Nice one, Caitlin).

Always With Love by Giovanna Fletcher

cover.jpg.rendition.460.707I picked up Always with Love as its the sequel to Billy and Me, a fluffy but sweet book from Giovanna Fletcher which I read a couple of years ago. The new one follows Sophie, a 20-something twee cafe owner in Kent, and her boyfriend Billy Buskin, international Hollywood star, as their relationship continues and faces new challenges which come as Billy takes a job in LA leaving them thousands of miles apart.

This one is another easy read, but that’s just it. I was hoping for something a little more, but I suspect the big issues in Sophie’s past and present were mainly dealt with in the first novel, leaving her to fret and worry about insignificant things in comparison here. Still, it was always nice and mushy to see them being a truly adorable couple and this would definitely make a lovely beach read.

What do you think?

