My 5k challenge – part two

13230125_10153339979846653_2211580061951969474_n (1)
After the Colour5k

Never one to renegade on a promise, I thought I’d better update you on my running progress.

I did the Colour5k. It was quite tough- it was on an uneven grass field which you went round five times and had a big hill in the middle. I only managed it in around 50 minutes; then again, I barely walked any of it which made me proud of myself.

More importantly, I’ve discovered the positive effects of running for myself as advocated in Alexandra Heminsley’s Running Like A Girl.

Most strangely, I find myself actually looking forward to running now. Some days I obviously put it off ad infinitum, I’m not that amazing (yet!), but other days it feels like something I must do, that getting out in the fresh air and putting one foot in front of the other will help my body feel satisfied and healthy.

I’m still not particularly good, or fast, or strong, but I can feel myself improving and that is motivation enough. I think I’ll need another target date like the Colour5k though to keep well on track. I’m thinking of setting myself a date to go to a park run for the first time.

In the meantime, I’ll keep running along the Thames and growing more confident.

PS. This lady is my new inspiration. If Mindy can do it, so can I!

What do you think?

